National Agreement Performance Reporting

In November 2008, the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) endorsed a new Intergovernmental Agreement on Federal Financial Relations (IGA). The IGA included six new National Agreements (NAs):

  • National Education Agreement
  • National Agreement for Skills and Workforce Development
  • National Healthcare Agreement
  • National Affordable Housing Agreement
  • National Disability Agreement
  • National Indigenous Reform Agreement.

Under the reforms, each NA contains the objectives, outcomes, outputs and performance indicators for each sector, and clarifies the respective roles and responsibilities of the Commonwealth and the states and territories in the delivery of services. The performance of all governments in achieving mutually agreed outcomes and benchmarks specified in each NA will be monitored and assessed by the COAG Reform Council (CRC).

The Steering Committee for the Review of Government Service Provision was requested by COAG to collate information relevant to the performance indicators in the National Agreements, and to provide it to the CRC.